Museum weekend - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Anne Oever - WaarBenJij.nu Museum weekend - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Anne Oever - WaarBenJij.nu

Museum weekend

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

17 Juni 2014 | Australië, Sydney

Hi y'all!

As I told you last time, I had to get up very early last week to do some more observations. Because it is the first bus to go to the zoo in the morning, it stops in North Sydney meaning that I don't have to cross the Harbour Bridge twice to get to work and that saves me some time :) The observations went well and fortunately the weather has been warm for the time of the year (10 at night, 18/20 midday), so it wasn't too bad to spend some time outside.
Tuesday the new intern came for the first time, Dan from the UK. He is going to follow up on my project, so I spend most of my week explaining him what I am doing, how to identify the cockatoos and how behavioural research works. In the beginning he didn't seem that enthousiastic, but now it seems to be getting better.
Thursday we all went to a lecture about the dhole, a sort of fox/dog animal. Don't feel bad if you didn't know it existed, I didn't know either until I came here :) It was very interesting, about different researches that they have been doing in Asia trying to learn more about it's lifestyle and raise awareness in the local population.
This week we are doing more observations at the bird show and hopefully in a few days Dan can do it by himself, so that I can work on my data analysis and writing. Today two more interns started, Aryana from Australia and Ciska from France (with a Dutch mother!). It will be nice and cosy at the office as Vicky calls it, for the pessimists among us it's just crowded ;) Time is going fast, I only have 2.5 weeks left at the zoo!

Of course I've also been doing things outside of work, otherwise life gets boring ;) Friday I went to the cinema to watch the second movie of 'The disappearance of Elenor Rigby', this time it was the guy's time to tell his part of the story. I had made some hutspot (potato/carrot/onion-mash; I'm allowed, since it's winter over here) at work and arrived rather early at the cinema. After a while a organ appeared out of the floor and a happy gentleman started playing music! Really awesome and not something you will find in many cinemas :) The movie was quite different style from the first part, but still really good. Funny at times, sometimes sad, but a real beautiful story.

Saturday I made an attempt to do zumba, because I missed it during the week. As I arrived at the station, the train was just leaving.. Better luck next time ;)
After some left-over hutspot for lunch, I went to the Powerhouse Museum. When I first came to Sydney, some people told me that it was mainly a museum for children, so I never went. But then Prue told me it was fun for any age, so I decided to give it a go. And I'm happy I did! What a great place! There is definitely something for everybody, as there are about 10 different subject covered in different exhibitions. There is technology (steam, robotics, design), spaceflight, transport (anything from carriages to solar cars), fashion (including a Strictly ballroom exhibition), the Wiggles (popular kids tv show) and the oopsatoreum (what children think a machine does and what it really is, quite fun). I also went to the Amazing Glow Show, where they explain the different kind of energy that can create light and show some fun stuff. All in all too many things to elaborate on here, too much even for me to see everything before closing :)

Sunday morning Alex, Momoka and me went for a nice trip to Aldi, always good fun! Later that day Prue, Judi (Prue's mom), Elizabeth (Prue's aunt), Alex, Momoka and me went to the Art Gallery of NSW, which had some interesting exhibitions going on. The weather wasn't very nice, like Saturday, so it was a good indoor activity. First we went to the Afghanistan exhibition, which was more about Greek and Roman culture to my surprise. It was all very old stuff (up to 2000 BC), but really well preserved, even glasswork! After that, the rest of the group went home while Momoka and me went to explore the rest of the art gallery. We had good fun joking and admiring different art works. At the ground level there is an old part of the gallery which is really beautiful, but the original floor makes a lot of noise when you walk. We were trying to be quiet, but it was just impossible :) There was a temporary exhibition on New Guinea and we made some friends there (see the picture) and the Aboriginal work was very interesting and beautiful. The contemporary art was as confusing as always and we were not the only ones that didn't get it. An Asian lady asked us to take a picture of her with some art, so she put her jacket and purse on a wooden cubus. The gard came running to her and said: 'That's art, you can't put your belongings on it!' Haha, that's how confusing modern art is :)

Next weekend I will finally be going to the Blue Mountains, I have booked my bed at the hostel so now I can't delay it anymore ;) The weather seems to be alright and there is a Winter Festival going on that weekend, so that should be fun.

Until next time,
Anne

  • 30 Juni 2014 - 20:50

    Willem:

    Leuk! Ik denk dat ik het Powerhouse museum op mijn to-do lijstje in Syndey ga zetten... :D

  • 07 Juli 2014 - 10:38

    Cindy:

    Wat heb je toch leuke verhalen! Een orgel uit de vloer bij een bioscoop, hoe tof is dat?! :D Ik ben echt zo trots op je wat je daar allemaal onderneemt Anne! Ook om je werk nu over te gaan dragen aan Dan. Dat lijkt me ook vreemd want het is al wel actief beginnen aan afscheid nemen daar. Vooral omdat hij niet volledig enthousiast was in het begin lijkt me dat moeilijk. Ik vind het super knap meiske. Over de blue mountains had ik al wel iets gehoord maar ik ben toch benieuwd nog naar je hele verslag maar die ga ik vanavond lezen. ;) Eerst even koken en werken zo meteen. Zo raar dat je hutspot daar maakt nu omdat het winter is. :P Wel lekker trouwens! Vonden ze het daar ook lekker? Liefs, Cindy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 17 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 380
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11950

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Maart 2014 - 31 Juli 2014

Internship Sydney

Landen bezocht: