Art and Rocks - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Anne Oever - WaarBenJij.nu Art and Rocks - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Anne Oever - WaarBenJij.nu

Art and Rocks

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

16 April 2014 | Australië, Sydney

G'day!

My birthday present trip was last Thursday. Prue told me that we would leave around 7am, because it's a long drive, so I got up nice and early. As I've been informed before, Australians are more casual with timing, so we left around 8am :) John (a friend of Prue) and Alex were joining us as well. John and Prue love bickering in the car, but I managed to talk about random things to keep them from fighting ;) The drive was about 3.5 hours, we stopped on the way to grab a cappuccino. I saw my first dead kangaroo next to the road :( When we arrived in Canberra, Prue had organised a picnic for me. Unfortunately, the weather was really bad, so it turned into a car picnic. Fun and delicious at same! Then we went to the National Art Gallery, where you are not allowed to take pictures, so there's no evidence. The Inca exhibition was really nice, but the Aboriginal work that I watched after was even better. I love their use of colour and patterns! We couldn't stay for long, because we had the same long drive back, but we stopped at a bakery on the way in Goulwin. The have a giant Merino sheep standing at the parking lot, very interesting. A dead wombat next to the road made my picture complete to realise that these animals are wild here and not just in zoos.

Friday and Saturday I worked, which entailed mostly me fighting with the iPad. I was supposed to use one for my behavioural observations, but Apple and me doesn't go well together. Making an Apple ID without a credit card was the first challenge, then I had to update it and install some app to read excel files. Anyway, after some trips back and forth to the restaurant (where they have wifi), I managed to organise everything. Just to realise Monday during my observations that excel and Apple don't go well together, which made me lose a lot of data.. So since Tuesday I am working old-fashioned with paper! Works great! Everything is going well, the birds are quite interesting to watch :)

Sunday was free, so I went to explore another part of the city. The weather was awful, but that didn't stop me! My destination was The Rocks, which is an area in the center of the city. First a took a walk onto the Harbour Bridge, which had an excellent view. There was a ship from the Holland America Line in the harbour, very impressive. There was a group of bridge climbers on the bridge, it's a shame that it's so expensive to do it. Then I went to the market, which is on every Saturday and Sunday. They sell a sorts of stuff: jewelry, souvenirs, textile, Christmas decorations etc. I spend a bit too much money on souvenirs, but at least it's quality stuff (not made in China) :) I ate a delicious corncob from a funny Asian guy. When I was looking at one stall, the seller asked me where I'm from. As soon as he heard the Netherlands, he said: Suarez! So I guess he was from Uruguay :) Afterwards I went to The Rocks Discovery Museum. A small, free (fortunately) and interactive museum about the history of the area. It started with the Aboriginals, then the invasion of the Europeans and how it all stabilized afterwards. Very nice! Then I moved on to the Customs House, which used to be the place when they check all goods, but now it's just a public building. When you enter, there's a giant model of the city under the glass floor. There's newspapers from all over the world and two stories of library on top of it. Nice, relaxed atmosphere.

Yesterday there was a nice surprise when I came home from zumba: a box and a card arrived for me! The box came from my lovely boyfriend with lots of breakfast/lunch items and some gifts, including a beautiful glass cockatoo. The birthday card from my family was very funny (a kangaroo with 'hoppy birthday'), very appropriate :) So, this morning I enjoyed a nice bowl of Brinta and eat kokosbrood and hagelslag sandwiches at work!

This weekend is Easter, so Saturday I will be going to the Royal Easter Show (with lots of animals and theatre) and Sunday we are probably going to Judi, Prues mom. Apparently she lives in a beautiful place with ocean on one side and mountains on the other.. Looking forward to it!

Cheers!
Anne

  • 16 April 2014 - 11:24

    Willemien:

    Mooi verslag! In juli ga we weer een nieuwe kerstboomversiering zoeken in Sydney!
    Knuffels uit Veldhoven! Mam

  • 16 April 2014 - 11:33

    Wendy:

    Klinkt goed Anne, geniet er van!
    En ja.. papier werkt altijd het beste. Ben ik met mijn vorige gedragsonderzoek ook maar weer eens achter gekomen.

    Groetjes!

  • 16 April 2014 - 12:52

    Annemiek Stens:

    Haha dat G'day mate, dat herken ik nog wel van toen ik een paar jaar terug in Australië was. Hier doen ze daar niet aan, maar is wel alles 'sweet as' :-P Wel grappig om de overeenkomsten te lezen, vooral over wat je in je vrije tijd allemaal doet (markten bezoeken, (poging tot) appeltaart bakken, musea, stad verkennen). Wel knake dat het zoveel regent elke keer, hier is het best lang mooi weer geweest maar ik vrees dat het regenseizoen hier nu ook is begonnen.. Nouja, ik blijf net als jij als Hollandse meid maar doorgaan, regen of geen regen. Heel veel plezier iig met alle dingen die je gaat doen de komende tijd! :-)

  • 16 April 2014 - 17:36

    Pa:

    Hoi Anne, fijn dat het goed met je gaat daar Down Under.
    We zullen een prima gids aan je hebben als wij daar zijn. The royal family nog gespot lately?
    Ben trots op je! Groetjes Pa

  • 03 Juni 2014 - 12:02

    Inge:

    Being casual with timing... Would be good to teach some people in the Netherlands haha... But I guess it's something to do with differences in climate, too. People living in countries with warm climates often are less frantic about timing and more relaxed.

    Too bad you weren't allowed to take pictures, you've stirred my interest! I'm probably going to go and visit the website later now :) Aboriginal art is really beautiful indeed! And I adore it when other artists try to incorporate the style in their own work or try to help the Aboriginals. I visited a teacher of mine at the art academy a few years ago with my class and she told a lot of stories about having been in Australia for a few years with her husband and their daughter. She and her husband are artists and they really got involved with the aboriginal community, it was really nice to hear the stories and get to see some original aboriginal art work! And of course how it influenced their own artwork :)

    So sad to hear about the dead animals, I know it's part of nature and life but it still breaks my heart a little to see such a sad scene.

    Apple... Don't get me started! Doesn't apple have their own version of an excell like programme? I hope you didn't get set back too much after losing the data! Have you managed finding out how the ipad works yet? Or did you go on with using paper and then processing the data on a Microsoft computer?

    I saw the pictures of the model city! That's really very impressive! So cool they put it underneath the (glass) floor instead of just putting it somewhere "normal".

    Love packages! Fortunately I found your address and you're not leaving yet so I might just.... You'll find out :P

    XXX

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 17 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 257
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11951

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Maart 2014 - 31 Juli 2014

Internship Sydney

Landen bezocht: